Our 3rd day

Yes indeed, I can now say we and our again. Yay! We will go almost every place together, so it is not just me, but us now.

We had a nice day today in spite of the rainy, drizzly weather. It meant we did lots of in door work, at the mall and the City Center. That was a nice confidence builder for me. He does nice work in doors too, and we both felt pretty comfortable with the escalator practice we did, especially at the end. The technique is of course slightly different than GDB teaches, but not so much. One cool thing that happened this afternoon at the mall is that we were walking toward the food court, and Mr. Keatsy boy decided to show me some stairs without me asking him. My instructor said I should cue him away from them, but I was actually excited! To me, it showed initiative, as we had been targeting stairs other places. The instructor talked about making sure that the targeting is done on cue, but you know, sometimes it’s nice to know something is there, and especially in the beginning, I want to encourage that kind of initiative, since I will be doing lots of targeting with him.

I talked to my instructor today about how I was feeling yesterday, and how I need to know what I am doing wrong and what I’m doing right. He said something along the lines of, “Well, you’ve had dogs before, you did this route of a few blocks without the support leash and it went well, so obviously you are doing lots of things right.” I asked what things I was doing right, and explained that no, it was not obvious. I have had one dog, from another school, and trained quite differently than this one, so I do need to know I am doing things right. Besides, the dogs are not the only ones who need motivation. I didn’t think to say that but I should’ve. If it comes up again, I will, but I think he got the picture. I think we just need to get used to each other’s styles, and make sure we communicate. He is very open to questions. OH yes, and he bought me coffee, so that makes him a good trainer in my book. 😉

Life is good, and I’m off to play cards! Catch y’all very soon!

2 thoughts on “Our 3rd day”

  1. Awwww, I’m so glad everything’s working out, Judy! ❤ I can only imagine how stressful this is–I'm sure that, in a way, it's just as nerveracking as if you were going for your first dog. But you're a rockstar, and I know you and Keats will make such a beautiful team. It's like you said, though–sometimes time is the best problem solver! ❤

Leave a comment