Best friends

26 years ago today, a 9-year-old and an 11-year-old pledged to be best friends. Today, we are still in touch pretty regularly, and when we talk, it’s almost like old times. It’s awesome and a true blessing to have that kind of friendship with someone, to share that kind of understanding, to laugh and cry together, and even when you’re not close in distance or don’t talk every week, that special bond is still there. So, what does this have to do with guide dogs? I was just sitting here reflecting on how today is the first day in a journey with Keats, just the two of us. We met 16 days ago, and have a good training foundation. As of today, we will move forward together, using those skills we worked on, and most especially, the bond we already share, young though it might be. We will go far together, and we, too, will be best friends, as Sachet and I were for almost 9 years. Our bond is still there, just different now. I am not her person anymore, but I know we both carry each other in our hearts. I am so glad I will get to see her from time to time, and that I get to hear about her antics almost every day. That to me is a gift. By the way, I will write a Sashy update very soon. She deserves her own post. 🙂

Leave a comment